What the hell is a taggie toy?? let me let http://www.myblankets.com explain to you:

“Created in America by an early childhood educator and mother of three, original Taggies are award winning security blankets or comforters based on the idea that babies and kids love to rub satin edges, clothing labels and tags. Taggies offer babies and kids a generous assortment of tags which are designed to be both tactile and visually stimulating. Every tag looks or feels different. No two tags are alike. Each tag has either a different print or texture. Taggies provides the child with both an exciting activity, and at the same time it gives that sense of security.”

 

Got it? however a pretty plain taggie blanket can set you back about £18!! having babies is expensive,but I have a sewing machine and I’m not spending £18 on something as easy to make as that!!

 

now for inspiration…. gosh waiting for inspiration is boring… oh look!

TurtlesMama on craftster uploaded this to the needlework board about a week ago, and in the post she said “I then cut the girl out and made her into a stuffie with ribbon tags for a teething toy but I can’t seem to find that picture!” – and there you go, inspiration!!

 

 

So I got going, I decided russian doll was the way to go, and a google image search later I found my ‘pattern’ and… well a couple of days later I have this:

congratulations, IT’S A GIRL!! lol … the back is a really fine faux fur I found in my stash… babies like furry things I guess?? but here, lets look at the bit the baby won’t care about, lets look at my embroidery:

tiny tiny chain stitch!

and perfectly named blanket stitch!… not to forget!! tags, tags and MOAR tags:

Beautiful huh??

I hope squiggle likes it! it’s turned out a bit big though so he/she probably won’t be able to manage it straight away, I’m thinking I may make another small one… and GOOD NEWS!! I took plenty of work in progress pics so I sould be able to put together a tutorial for you guys!!… nah it’s ok, you don’t have to thank me 🙂

